top of page

Don't Get Bored


We live in a small town with limited entertainment options, so we decided to make some pretty major changes to keep away the boredom.

Since I'm female, I have the usual very popular changes to choose from: purses, shoes, and diets. The only one I didn't choose was purses (my husband is aghast). Changing my diet was the biggest one. I'm sure several of my friends are slapping themselves on the forehead and saying "Again?" They've lived through many lunch dates over the years when they weren't sure which restaurant to pick to accommodate my dietary restrictions of the moment (gluten free, high protein, high carb, all natural, minimally processed, vegetarian, vegan, or some combination). Well, ladies, the next time we see each other, it's vegetarian. Probably for life.

This wasn't a spiritual choice. I needed to lower my cholesterol. And it worked! I brought it down 39 points in three months. My doctor is happy, I'm happy (and a little bit bored). Wyoming is definitely a meat-eating state with seasonal vegetables, so eating healthy vegetarian is a bit of a challenge. Do you want a slice of cheesecake with that?

Another big change was going from a two-car to one-truck family. I guess this makes us official Wyomingites. We started talking about skinnying down to one vehicle when we were still living in Los Angeles. At the time, it wasn't practical because of our schedules and work locations. Life is simpler now, and a 4-wheel drive truck is more of a necessity than a testosterone rush. So, we traded in our two cars for a new extended cab Toyota Tacoma. We might eventually figure out all the gadgets and gizmos. The dogs give it 8 paws up approval. I love driving the truck (how did I survive without a backup camera, and being able to see more than the undercarriage of the truck in front of me?).

Our last big change happened last night. I now have my own office upstairs. This is a huge change, and it will take some getting used to. For most of my professional life, I crammed myself into a cubicle in a huge room filled with cubicles filled with equally crammed fellow employees. For most of my marriage, Tony and I crammed ourselves into small living quarters, where we shared the multi-purpose living room. It is a very odd feeling to stretch my arms out without hitting somebody or something. I expect my blood pressure to plunge.

Latest Blog
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page