top of page

Lightning Storm Candy

I stayed up late last night to watch a fierce and beautiful lightning storm. Pulses of light changed the sky from black to white. Streaks of electric white split the sky.

I ran from room to room to watch the show from different angles, pressing my nose to the windows like a child in a candy store, until the rain drops obscured the view and fractured the lightning into hundreds of tiny storms.

The dogs followed me through the darkened rooms, stopping when I stopped at each window to laugh and clap my hands, looking up at my face in wonder and concern. Even my husband called out to me occasionally to ask what I was doing, and if I was ok.

Last night's storm was nothing like the wimpy storms I had seen all my life, with a few streaks of lightning and a downpour that lasted just long enough to coat car windshields with wet dust. Last night's storm was authentic weather, and I loved it.

Latest Blog
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page